Saturday, December 29, 2012
boob decisions
I decided to look at all my options again, and I keep coming back to the DIEP. It is a procedure that uses tummy fat and tissue. It is a huge operation, with a long painful recovery, and my plastic surgeon does not perform this procedure. So- it really is a huge pain to change my mind. It will change a lot of things.
There are not very many doctors at all that perform this procedure because it is very complicated and time consuming. At first, when I was looking for more information, I found a very good practice that performs the DIEP in San Antonio but that is a long drive! I did finally find a few doctors in Dallas that do this, so while it isn't as close as Fort Worth- it is much closer than San Antonio.
I had an appointment with my plastic surgeon yesterday. I was supposed to get my last fill. I was very nervous about going because I knew I needed to talk to him about wanting the DIEP, and I was afraid that he would say it wasn't a good idea for me to have this procedure, and that we would part on bad terms. Thankfully he is a much better doctor than that. He said that he knows doctors in Dallas that do only this kind of procedure, so they are very practiced- and he would be happy to refer me to them- he also looked at my (ample) stomach, and said I would be a very good candidate for the DIEP. I was so happy that he was okay with me at least looking into that as an option. He wants to see me again in a month to find out what the radiation doctor has decided- and then I guess we will go from there!
Who needs an immune system anyway?
By the time Christmas came I was doing pretty good! Of course by then nothing tasted good so all that candy in my stocking will have to wait around for a while before I can actually stand to eat it!
Wednesday I went in for my labwork. I really figured it would be great because I was feeling so good. Not so lucky! The nurse actually asked me if I had even taken my Neulasta shot the day after chemo! I had, of course! Apparently I have no immune system. It was by far the lowest that it has ever been. Surprisingly she didn't tell me to stay at home or wear a mask or anything- just be careful, wash my hands a LOT, and take my temperature 2x a day- and call immediately if I have a fever.
Well, that was on Wednesday and it is now Saturday. I think I am starting to come down with another cold, but I have no fever and by now my counts should be starting to rise again, so I am probably out of the woods. I am really tired of getting sick EVERY SINGLE CYCLE though....
Today we are taking Jim's mom to the airport so she can go home. It was really nice having her here. She has made so many cookies while she has been here- I told her last night after she made a new batch that I was going to send her the bill when I start going back to Weight Watchers! hahaaha!
Friday, December 21, 2012
more appointments- see, it never ends!
Thursday evening, my friend Janice decided to bring by some gingerbread cupcakes- they had maple frosting. WOW!!!!! They were so good. And I was so glad that I got them on a day that I could actually eat cakey stuff :)
Friday was a busy day. Cameron had his Christmas party at school. I told him I would come because I haven't been to anything at the school all year long. I knew I was pushing it though because friday is the day I start feeling 'off'. I was able to help some, and get a few pictures. His teacher was really glad to see me there- she knew about my 'situation' and she sends notes home with Cameron occasionally, wondering how I am doing- so it made her happy to see me doing well. While I was there, I went to the lost and found to make sure we weren't missing anything. The lost and found is scary and germy. I try not to take any breaths, certain that I will catch some sort of infection. I don't find anything that is ours- so I then slather up with a hefty dose of hand sanitizer that I brought with me just for this purpose!
Then, I had to show up at the clinic to get my fluids. Jim came with me, since it was only supposed to last an hour. He was bored out of his mind- and we were only there an hour! I got a chuckle out of that. The time went by quickly and we were able to leave. No more appointments till after Christmas! yeah!
Wednesday, December 19, 2012
Final chemo (kinda)
In the morning, I did my usual stuff to get ready. We had grabbed a bag of Sonic ice the night before so I didn't need to go there on my way to chemo like I usually do. I just had to put it in some ziplock bags so that I could use it later to ice my hands during the Taxotere. I am very happy that this will be the last time I will have to ice my hands. So I leave the house with my huge overnight bag packed with things I never really use there. I stop at McDonalds because I LOVE their oatmeal. I get an oatmeal and a yogurt parfait- this will get me through until lunch.
I wasn't quite as scared of this chemo as I thought I would be- especially considering how bad #5 was. I went in on the 19th, and got my bloodwork, then downstairs to see Helaina- the NP. I talked to her about how terrible #5 was and she was really worried about it, partially because if I got sick everyone was going to be out for Christmas break so I would have to go to the ER. She decided that I needed to come in on friday- 2 days after chemo, to get a big bag of fluids. Then she was worried I would not follow up, so she made an appointment for me to show up on friday, so that I couldn't back out. After that, I went back upstairs to the chemo room and got hooked up. No tv today- just a bunch of staring at each other. A lot of people were sleeping. I wish I could sleep but I never can in there, even with the benadryl they give me. I think that the steroids that they also give me fight for attention too so I feel drowsy but can't really sleep and end up just feeling pretty drunk for about an hour. There was a family seated next to me wrapping stocking stuffers for Christmas. They were relatively entertaining, and they gave me m&m's! The infusion actually went pretty quickly and I got out of there before 4- which is really amazing! Before I left, one of the nurses brought over a tshirt that was signed by the 4 nurses working that day (usually there are a bunch more but some were sick or gone on vacation) and a pin, because it was my last chemo! I barely held it together until I got to the car- then I started to cry. Of course, I had taken Jim's car that day and he does not keep tissues in his car- damn him!
Once I got home, Carole had made a birthday cake for Jim. Food still tasted good, so it was nice to have some cake. It was also pretty warm outside, so Jim grilled some steak for dinner. It was great!
Saturday, December 8, 2012
Almost done filling my Foob!
I did come up with something though that makes me feel somewhat hopeful for the spring. Since I was originally planning on getting my final implant at that time and now I can't because of radiation I have really been bummed. But I was thinking about the other side- the good girl ;) I will have to at the very least get a lift on that side to make it somewhat like the other. I have no idea what I really want though. I don't think I want an more work than that done, but what if I do. I really don't want them any bigger but I am not sure what lifting it will do. So- this is the plan that I am going to ask the plastic surgeon about next time: Getting a lift on my left side in the spring right after radiation is done. Then just leaving them both alone for the next 6 months. This way- I maybe won't look QUITE as rediculous this summer, with one huge one up high, and one smaller saggier one way down low...There is no way I would wear a tank top or a swimsuit with the way things are right now. Maybe not even later, but at least they would be on the same level and that would make me feel quite a bit better. Then I can get used to what the lift looks like, and decide if I want more or not. Then if I do, I can have a revision done at the end of the 6 months when I get my right side fixed.
All it does is add 1 more surgery to my year- I don't care, I will already max out my insurance again anyhow, and shit- who cares about 1 more surgery, and one more time being put under. I am a lab rat anyhow, this is my life, and what my life will probably always be like to some extent. And I think this will really give me a better chance at deciding what I would like as far as my boobs go. Now I just need the plastic surgeon to agree to it!
It finally happened
Finally, when I emerged from being nearly dead, I decided to catch a cold. Again. Ugh! So, I have no spent the last 5 days with a stuffy nose, a terrible cough, and no voice! Every once in awhile I can talk but not often.
While I was at my last chemo appointment, the doctor gave me an RX for Lyrica. She thought it might help with my muscle fatige issue because it might somehow be a neuropathy thing, and Lyrica can help with neuropathy. Every night that I took it, I would wake up in the night to use the bathroom, and I could barely walk- I was so doped up- it was similar to having about 6 drinks in me! Yikes! I weaved my way all over the room before I made it to the bathroom. I also kind of wonder if the Lyrica is part of what made me so very tired after chemo. All I know is that I had to stop using it and I refuse to try it again- just in case that is part of what made me feel so sick.
I had started to get excited about my final treatment coming up. It is a very exciting thing in the chemo room when someone finishes their last treatment. Well, yes- my last 'bad' chemo is coming up on the 19th, but then guess what? I still come back every 3 weeks until the end of August- so it's not like it is any big deal about December. It doesn't change my schedule. My ass still belongs to my oncologist. I still have no freedom. My treatments will be shorter, sure- instead of 6 hours it will be 2-3. Big deal- that's still a big whopping amount of time I have to be at that god forsaken place. I guess that kind of goes along with everythign I am feeling right now. I am definately in a kind of dark place. I had a fleeting thought of celebrating my last chemo (maybe the day before- while I still feel good) but why really? My last day isn't really until August. And I know it will get better after this next one but still- I am really feeling sorry for myself. I am tired of being bald. Tired of being ugly. Say what you want- I feel ugly. I feel like I look like an old man. It takes SO long to get ready now. So much planning ahead to decide what top goes with what scarf, bla bla bla. Then I have to put a lot of makeup on to make my dry scaly face look tolerable and to put enough eyeliner on to cover up the fact that I have patches of eyelashes missing. And I am just SO tired of not having any damn hair!
Monday, November 26, 2012
I don't wanna go!
On the upside- one of the common side effects of my chemo is neuropathy. Many people I know have little to no feeling in their fingers and toes- luckily I do not have any issues with that- other than just a mild tingling and some clumbsiness for about a week after chemo. Also- my hair is kind of growing back in. A few of the hairs, anyway! LOL! And they don't seem to be falling out either- I will have to see if this continues, or if the next round makes me shed again. It 'sounds' nice, but really it looks TERRIBLE. Being completely bald looks much better than this weird sparse stubble that have going on.
Here is my lovely hairy head!
Sunday, November 18, 2012
It has been reported that the breast cancer rate would be cut in half if women would eat a low-fat diet. Now, if a woman has already lost half her breasts, can she go back to square one and eat a high-fat diet?
Jim and I have talked about diet changes and I think we are both going to try to make some serious changes- I think we are going to try to have a mostly vegetarian diet. I have done this before and it was a breeze, but that was before kids! Now I have 3 picky eaters so I am not sure how to make that work exactly! Of course they are like their mom in their way of thinking- they don't really agree with keeping animals in terrible conditions, and killing them, just for us to eat. That being said- they aren't very keen on vegetables other than green beans and corn. The other dietary change I would like to make is a low sugar diet- but without using artificial sweeteners, I honestly don't know how to do that. Avoiding sugary foods isn't really an option! I have some time to figure it all out- I am really not making myself avoid much of anything while doing chemo- I don't have the energy for it. If it sounds good- I am eating it!
I think we are planning on going to visit Jim's dad for Thanksgiving. We will stay in Tulsa for a couple of days, then come back home. It will be really nice to get away. I don't think I will have any problems- the only side effects I am having is twitching, mild heartburn, and terrible, terrible muscle weakness. None of it really keeps my from going or doing- except I can hardly bend down and I have to lie straight while in bed. It is very weird and I do not understand it at all. hot soaks in the tub, light stretching, short walks- none of it helps! I guess I will feel better in January as far as that goes!
Oh- and I a get to go to the plastic surgeon for another fill tomorrow. I am starting to have a decent size fake boob. I don't need to use a prosthesis in my bra anymore- but the bottom half of my bra is basically empty. I hope that part starts to even out but I kind of doubt that it will. Soon my fake boob is going to be a lot bigger than my real boob. That is going to be weird. It's big enough and hard enough that I could start using it as a shelf if I run out of space elsewhere to place things.
Tuesday, November 13, 2012
This week was a real humdinger!
Thursday, Cameron went to school, and the nurse called shortly thereafter because he was throwing up :( I went and picked him up and sent him upstairs to watch tv- I told him I couldn't clean up his mess so he had better puke in the toilet! haha! Luckily he did! Then Thursday night, Ethan started with the puking. Jim was also not feeling well. I missed the bug when Sloane had it- now it was going through the rest of the family.
All day friday I felt pretty bad. I actually don't think I caught the bug- I never got a fever, but I think each chemo is getting worse and worse. All I can say is that friday and saturday were terrible! And since Jim wasn't feeling well- that meant I got to take care of the family. I got to make dinner for everyone, and do everything else. Ugh! MAYBE next cycle someone will take care of ME, and cook for ME. That would be nice!
Sunday night I woke up a few times in my sleep because I was having some weird arm pain in my left arm. I was also really nauseous, and noticed a weird aching pain in the area of my heart. I kept going back to sleep, but by morning I had gotten kind of concerned. One of the chemo meds I am taking has a history of causing heart problems and heart attacks. I decided I would go in to the dr if it was still going on once Sloane went to school. And of course- it was! Jim drove her to school, then came and picked me up- luckily we have a little ER about 2 blocks from our house. I found out that if you want people to spring to action- you tell them you are having chest pain. Haha! Seriously- I didn't have to sign any paperwork, give them my name, nothing- they took me straight back to a room and put me in a bed, brought in an EKG machine and got that all started. Then they took my name and personal information. Impressive! Sadly, after that it went very slowly. They needed bloodwork and they were out of the needles they use to access my port. That meant they needed to stick my arm- My right arm is out of commission forever more so they get my left. The woman does a terrible job in my arm, then sticks it in my hand- usually it isn't terribly painful but this woman was not skilled at needle sticks! She ended up having to go get someone else to do it because although she got a vein in my hand, she couldn't pull any blood from it. The other woman did a fabulous job, thank goodness. They then decided that I needed a CT scan/echo something or other. They had to inject me with iodine at a really fast pace and take a CT picture of my heart at this exact moment. Sounds easy.... The woman has to test my iv to make sure it can handle the fluid coming in at a fast pace, so she tests it with saline. They left my hand iv accessed (even though it wasn't suitable enough to draw blood from) so that is the one she used. When she pushed it into my vein, I SCREAMED!!!! I do not mean a little- ouch, that doesn't feel good yelp- I mean screamed! It was so incredibly painful. She thought she had blown a vein but she didn't. Who knows what was wrong. She decided there was no way we were going to use my hand. She called in someone else to stick me AGAIN. They actually had to use an ultrasound to find a vein to stick! OMG- I am seriously considering getting a needle that can access my port, and keep it in my purse at all times just in case of emergency because this was such a terrible experience!
Finally they got the needle in, and gave me the injection- it all went fine! I ended up being there for 4 hours which totally sucked! During all of this, I was still experiencing the chest pain, but all the tests came back fine. Even once I got home in the evening I was still having that pain- so although it totally ruined my whole morning, I still would have gone to get it checked out if I had to do it over again- it really was a bad/odd feeling when it would happen. The doctor even said that it really sounded like heart pain that I was describing. Often people have pain that they think is a heart attack and it is really heartburn, but that is definately not what I felt. I guess it was just a weird fluke! Thank goodness for that!
Today, I feel like I am almost normal. It's about time! The only side effect I am still having that is really bothering me is twitching. All of my muscles twitch so much I feel like I am vibrating! Sometimes, it is my arms, sometimes it is my face, and even my stomach- so weird! The nurse last week told me to drink tonic water, because the quinine in it will stop the twitching. I bought some and tasted it. It was so completely horrible that I won't be having any more- I will just sit and twitch, thank you!
Here is a picture of the butchery done on my poor arm!
Tuesday, November 6, 2012
almost to #4!
I ended up being very happy that Jim was off Saturday night- Sloane came down with a stomach bug and threw up about 6 times in the night. For the first time in my life as a mother- I never got up with my sick kid- haha! Jim did it all! Mind you- he didn't have to get out of bed- he is working nights, so on his day off, he just stays up all night long so really- cleaning up puke gave him something to do. LOL! I was very thankful that it happened that night!
Monday I had my labwork and pre-chemo doctor appt, as well as an appointment with my plastic surgeon. Sloane was still sick so I was in quite a predicament. She couldn't go to school, and I couldn't bring her with me, as kids aren't allowed in the chemo room (that is where I go to get my labwork since they have to access my port) not to mention, bringing a sick kids to a place full of people with little or no immune system would probably be frowned upon! Luckily I have wonderful neighbors! My friend Leah, whom lives across the street didn't mind taking my pukey child into her house for the day. Thankfully she didn't throw up, she just layed on the couch and watched a movie.
I was hoping to get home as quickly as possible so I could take care of Sloane but you know how the best laid plans go.... As soon as I got to the lab, I knew I was in trouble. There was a long wait just go get my labs drawn! I finally got that done, and went downstairs to wait for my appointment. After awhile I started getting nervous- I was needing to be at my plastic surgeons office in 20 minutes! I talked to Fred (the best nurse ever) and told her I would go to my other appt, get my boob filled, and be right back. I NEVER have to wait at my plastic surgeons......yea. She was fine with me going, so I left- got to my other appointment and guess what, I waited and waited :( I finally got my fill- and boy I knew when he got to 50cc's! OUCH! I really felt a lot of pressure this time, and actually it turned to pain rather quickly. He told me that I may need to slow down my fills if I am starting to feel that- yet I don't have time. I need to be finished with this process by the end of december, so that I will be done before I start radiation. Hopefully it all goes well! Anyway- I left there, and quickly returned to my oncologists. I got into a room pretty quickly but then there was some sort of emergency upstairs so I was in there forever. I really started getting kind of pissed. I initially got there at 10 am, and here it was after 1pm and I am still there! Well, the NP finally came in and told my my labs were fine, and the echo that I had done the week before was also fine. She wasn't sure what my muscle fatigue/weakness was from. I have also been having some twitching in my arms and in my face- I didn't really think there was a 'fix' for that, but she told me to drink one small bottle of tonic water a day- apparently it has quinine in it, which stops the twitching! Jokingly, I asked- with gin? She said: sure! gin, vodka, I don't care what you put in it, just make sure you drink 1 a day! I must try it because I am very curious to see if it helps! I am also starting to get watery eyes. Those are caused from the Taxotere- and they are called: Taxotears! hahahahaha! Yes, for real! It isn't too bad yet, but I do need to make sure to have a tissue in my purse at all times, just in case I start 'crying'.
The very worst news of my doctors appointment: my weight. I found out that I have gained about 12 pounds since my diagnosis. crap! I knew my pants were getting tight, but I didn't think I was up that much! It really upsets me. During my 'good weeks' I really need to make more of an effort to eat healthy/light foods rather than this free pass shit that I do when I don't feel good. Almost makes me wish chemo WOULD make me puke! Or at least make me not interested in food. Why didn't I get THAT kind of chemo???
I finally got out of there close to 2pm. That was a really long appointment! (well, 2 actually)
Then, in the evening, Ethan had his first band concert of the year. As per my agreement with Ethan, I had to wear my wig. I really don't like to wear my wig that much, and certainly not for 2+ hours! That thing is itchy! I was so worried about it, I took a pain pill right before I left so that I would be sort of 'happy' when I was there, and not mind my wig so much! I also decided to try out a wig cap- I haven't worn one with my wig before because I was worried about it making me hotter, and since starting chemo I am always so hot and sweaty (chemopause!) Thankfully it worked. The wig was much less itchy with the wig cap on and I didn't break into a sweat too badly.
And now I am ready to begin number 4 tomorrow!
Thursday, November 1, 2012
Halloween fun!
Sadly- the kids didn't really get any great candy that was worthy of me stealing when they went to bed. What the hell is up with that?
Wednesday, October 31, 2012
Disappointed that I don't need a blood transfusion. WHAT?
I have to take the kids trick-or-treating tonight and I am really worried about how I am going to be able to do it. I am going to try to sit around and be still as much as possible today so that I will hopefully have more mobility tonight. Not looking good though because just takingSloane in to her preschool class, I could barely walk :( And no, I won't be having the neighbors take the kids for me- I have the very best costume in the world- it ROCKS! And I will wear it and walk around the neighborhood if it damn near kills me.
Friday, October 26, 2012
I need to pump iron
The echo was fast. While in the waiting room, I was talking to a woman there that finished chemo in April. She was still wearing a scarf over her head(!!!!!!!) I asked her about it, because I was kind of freaking out a little when she told me how long it had been since she finished. Apparently when her hair grew back in, it grew in 'bad' so she shaved it off and started all over again! Crazy!
I then had to go back up to the chemo room to talk to the nurse about my labs. My white blood cells were very high! great! I figured as much because I feel really good! But she told me that my hemoglobin is super low- which is indicative of my iron levels. She said if they get any lower than they are now, I will have to get a transfusion or infusion- not sure which she said. Bah! She gave me a list of iron rich foods to eat, but she also told me that even if I eat a lot of them, my numbers will only go up a tiny amount probably. So, hopefully they get better by next week! I am kind of surprised because of how good I am feeling- relatively energetic! However, my legs have been very weak the past few days, and increasingly so every day. They aren't achey in the knees like they get right after chemo- more like my whole legs are just weak, the way they get after about 30 minutes on a treadmill. I can walk across the room, and be nearly exhausted! So I am thinking it is probably related to the low iron. After doing some research- I found that it could also cause excessive sweating and a feeling of heartburn. Hmmmm. It would be pretty sweet if I could fix the iron issue and make the heartburn and sweating go away, or at least get better. The heartburn isn't terrible right now, but the sweating- oh the sweating! If that doesn't get better soon, the rest of the people living in this house are going to be very cold this winter while I have the heat turned off to reduce sweating! haha!
The other new weird side effect I am having is muscle twitching. Sometimes it is in my arm, other times in my leg. Usually it is in my face though. It is VERY annoying!
Wednesday, October 24, 2012
Is it okay to tell your doctor to shut up? I don't care, I do it anyway!
I went to see my plastic surgeon this week and as soon as I saw him, I promised I wasn't going to throw any tantrums or freak out on him this time. LOL! He assured me that it was fine, and doesn't bother him if I vent a little. I guess breast cancer patients probably freak out in his office somewhat regularly. So, after telling him I was going to be calm, I discussed our plans for the future. He is going to over fill my right side so that it will be larger than what it will be in the end. This is so that when I have radiation and it shrinks my skin, I will still (hopefully) have enough salvagable skin left over that we will be able to put the final implant in without doing a skin graft. Then, I asked him about the timeline-
I said: so it will be 6 months after my final radiation treatment, correct?
dr: Well......6 months at the very minimum
me: SHUT UP!!! 6 months. You said 6 months. NOT longer!
He is obviously married because what he said next was the right answer- 'I mean yes, exactly 6 months to the day' As in whatever you want the answer to be, I will say.
LOL!
me: thank you
sooo obviously I can not go into his office without yelling or freaking out. It is pretty funny that I yelled shut up to him though!
He then filled me- another 50cc's. After doing that, he said- that looks pretty good, ya wanna do another 50 today?
me: uhhhh NO
then after considering it for a minute, I told him he could put another 20 in if he REALLY wanted to. He laughed and said no, he would just wait a few weeks.
Thank goodness because I really don't think it would be very comfortable to get more than 50 at a time!
The good news is that if I lay down and look at my boob it is really starting to get big! It isn't nearly as noticable when I am upright. It is more sore this time though- which makes me even more glad I didn't get more of a fill than normal.
Saturday, October 20, 2012
halfway!
Thursday was a pretty good day, and then friday as usual I started getting worse. It always seems to start with upper body stiffness and pain. My entire head also feel like it is filled with chemo meds and it makes me sloshy! No other way to describe it really- My vision gets weird and my ears have fluid in them and I feel my whole body move with every heart beat. This time around it seems like my heartburn is kicking in sooner- boo!
My mom is only here for one more week to help out. I am having her help Cameron with his science fair project and also carving pumpkins- that will be 2 major tasks out of the way. The kids seem to be over the 'mom is sick/lets be extra good and nice' thing. They have been not getting along and throwing tantrums and annoying the crap out of me. Hopefully they get over it soon.
I did find out at chemo that my radiation will be 6 weeks long (huge frowny face here!!!) I have been looking at some other options in the Houston area with Proton therapy, but it doesn't appear that they will pan out so I will likely get 6 weeks of radiation after chemo is over. Now I just need to figure out if I can handle starting grad school in January or if it will kick my butt! It doesn't help that I have chemo brain and can't really think much at all ;)
Tuesday, October 16, 2012
going for #3 tomorrow, and I am very TIRED
I rarely wear my wig these days- it is so, so itchy and my scarves aren't! I also don't feel comfortable going bald anywhere now- because my stubble is GONE. I have gone from the buzz cut that could make people think- 'hmmm, maybe she is just kinda butch'...to 'definately cancer patient'. ick. Not that the scarves are any different but it makes me feel better.
I go in for my 3rd treatment tomorrow. That is kind of exciting because it means I will be halfway done. The time has gone by so quickly, yet the bad week after each treatment seems sooooooooo long. However- as with the other treatments I have a large amount of anxiety about it. Not the treatment itself, but the steroids (that I started today) which make me feel crazy, and not sleep well for 3 days, and make me transform into a human furnace! Last cycle I took a large dose of benadryl before bed each night and it really did help me sleep better so hopefully that will be how it goes this time also! Then, last cycle I got a bit nauseated on the ride home from treatment and it stayed around for the evening. Hopefully it doesn't get any worse than that. I would love if I could keep from puking this entire time on chemo! And now my new thing to worry about- glutamine powder. Ugh! That shit feels like I am drinking sand. Someone suggested trying to mix it in with jello and really that sounds like a fabulous idea, I think I am going to try that this time. It is supposed to help with nerve damage, joint pain, and mouth sores- all of which I had much less of on treatment 2 than on treatment 1 so I really feel like I need to use it, but the sand part makes it really hard to do.
For as tired as I am this time, it really makes me feel like I am on a downward spiral. I worry that the side effects are going to keep hitting me harder and harder and it will be more difficult to recover and have good days. Not something that makes me have a good feeling about the holidays coming up, especially with Jim having to work so much. On that note- if nobody hears from me for the next week it is because I am hopefully sleeping and possibly molting (it kind of feels like that on day 3-4 LOL)
Wednesday, October 3, 2012
Dodged a bullet
It has been so nice having my mom here. She has helped out so much with the kids and she has made me a ton of scarves. Her birthday was on monday and I was way too weak to do anything so she made her own birthday cake! Too bad it tastes like cardboard just like everything else :( If you know me, you know it is a very hard thing for me to not like cake.
Tuesday, October 2, 2012
This should be called the side effect week!
Today is the day I was expecting to get bad bone pain from the neulasta. I could feel it setting in, but I am still able to move around pretty good and I haven't taken any pain relievers other than the Aleve. Woot! The new regimen of drugs seems to be helping with that- that makes me very happy. Tomorrow it is off to get labs done and then to see the plastic surgeon- it is another boob growing day :)
Oh, and I finally wore one of my scarves! My wig was dirty and I needed something for going to lunch with my mom- It gave me great amounts of anxiety because scarves scream cancer patient. I finally got one on, and tied it a million different ways before I was happy with it. I think it looked nice but I felt rediculous! Today I am wearing a different one and I feel kind of like a pirate. I love that my wig lets me look normal. It is kind of fun to have new colorful accessories to play with though- if you can get over the fact that it makes you look like a cancer patient...
Wednesday, September 26, 2012
On to cycle 2!
Jim took me to treatment #2. It was a really long day- we got there at 8:30, upstairs for labs, downstairs for doctor appt that took FOREVER. She gave me more rx for heartburn and some other meds to take to help with the bone pain from neulasta- I now get to add claritin once a day, 2 aleve 2x a day, and some delicious glutimate powder. The doctor seemed pleased with the amount of side effects I had other than the bone pain, so she sent me on my merry way- upstairs for chemo. I got up there at 10:30, and there werent any chairs available- full house today! They finally got a chair ready for me and it was almost noon before they even hooked my up to my premeds. Jim was still haning around but he just stood in the middle of the pod, playing with his phone, not even talking to me- finally I was annoyed enough that I told him to just leave... There were some nice girls sitting with me getting treatments. One of the women was getting her last chemo- she was SO excited! Whoever turned the television on, put it on a western channel- It was terrible. There were all these old shows on that were horribly boring. Sad thing is-of all us women sitting there, you know none of us were enjoying what was on the tv, but none of us did anything to get the channel changed. I sat there until 5:30 watching Bonanza type shows.... Jim came by and picked me up. I didnt feel terrible but I was a little queasy- ugh, not how I want to start out a new cycle!
Monday, September 24, 2012
more about my hairless life
I was telling Jim the other day that my head hair isn't the only hair falling out. His response? YES! Like he just won the lottery! He then goes on to remind me of the hairless egyptian cat he has always wanted and my response has always been hell no! He said now I get to be his little hairless egyptian cat. Oh boy- I laughed for a good 10 minutes at that one, after telling him he was a big ol freak! And I am sure he doesn't even tell me the more freaky things that come into his crazy head!
Friday, September 21, 2012
finding my comfort zone
The day after shaving my head (Thursday) I had a lunch date with my CASA supervisor. It was the first time I would have to leave my house without MY hair. Yes, I had my wig and I fully intended to wear it, but still- I was terrified. Honestly, I felt like I was gonna puke. I put my wig on and got in the car. I pretty much was in full anxiety attack mode at that point. I called my grandma while I was driving, just so she could distract me from freaking out. I talked to her all the way to the office- and felt much calmer by the time I got there- thank you grandma!!!
My wig is really nice- it is very much like how I might wear my hair normally- well, except my real hair has always been much to thick to style the way my wig is. But it looks like ME....We went to my favorite restaurant in the world- Thai Garden. My favorite waitress in the world (who conveniently works at my favorite restaurant in the world) was there. And she recognized me. That was nice too! Crazy things you worry about when life goes awry and you lose your hair I guess.... We had a wonderful meal, and discussed non cancer stuff- my supervisor uged me to come and take a paid position when I am 'ready' which was nice but I don't know that I would ever work there as a paid person- my 1 tiny little case gave me so much grief that I can't imagine having more than 1 case at a time!
After lunch, I went back home- and the wig came off. It was terribly itchy when I first put it on, but after about 10 minutes I got used to it and it was actually quite comfortable. Still- off it came when I got home. It does not bother me to be bald at home. Unless the air conditioner is on- then I need my hat! An hour later, I had to go pick up Sloane from preschool. All the teachers there know what is going on- but still a few of them thought I just had a new haircut- and they were really quite shocked to find that it was a wig! When I got to Sloane's room she announced to the class- 'Hey, that is my mom! She is wearing hers new hair wig!' All the while beaming from ear to ear. Then of course- she said 'Now take it off mom, show them yours haircut!!!' LOL! I was like- uhhhh NO! She was really disappointed that I didn't stand in the middle of 8 four year olds and rip off my hair to show them :)
Thursday evening, both Ethan and Cameron had their martial arts class. Cameron and Sloane both desperately wanted me to go in there bald. I rationalized it that I DO look not half bad right now- especially since I still have stubble- once I lose that, I will definately look 'sick' Also, I know most of the people in there so it is kind of a 'safe' environment. Well, I couldn't drive bald so I wore my scarf instead of my wig until we got there. Still kind of unsure- Cameron and Sloane are both chanting at me to do this- Ethan said 'no- don't do it!!!' But Cameron and Sloane won. I took off my scarf and went in to sit down. Really- I really thought I was gonna throw up. I sat down and one of the owners came and talked to me, and I explained. It didn't make me feel better. I hated being in there with no hair. I really wanted to just puke. Then Sloane wants me to walk around the shopping center with her and go shopping. No way in hell girl- I have no hair! As soon as we get back to the car I put my scarf back on. I did it. I didn't like it, but I did it.
Team Tara

And then it was gone...
I was so nervous and really trying to be okay with it- and I think for the most part I was okay with it but I did break down in tears once I sat in the chair and she put the cape around me. It didn't last long though thank goodness, till I was back to my regular cheery 'must go forward' self.
Once she started shaving, it actually felt kind of nice. I definately felt much lighter! And surprisingly for as much hair as I had already pulled out that day, I had a head full of stubble- no bald spots! I don't entirely understand that. Then after my head was fully shaved, we got out the duct tape. Yes, you heard right- duct tape. I had heard that you can use it on your head to pull up the remaining stubble and that it does not hurt- rather, it feels good because you get that crap out of your head! After hearing about it I did research and found that indeed- it is a 'thing' people actually do and it really seems to not hurt- plus then you dont have the remaining stubble falling out all over the place making a mess! I even went and bought fancy purple duct tape! Well- we soon found out that designer colored duct tape is not industrial strength. Kim's husband Steve went and got the 'real' stuff out of the garage- but alas, that did not work either. Apparently my stubble was still firmly attached!
The pile of hair on the floor was amazing! Must have been enough there for 10 wigs!
Before leaving I of course had to put my wig on. Yes, I had to put my wig on to walk across the street to my house. LOL! Baby steps.... Most people on the street are my very good friends and they know everything, but not everyone knows and that is kind of how I like it. I am very glad that I felt comfortable enough to allow my friends to be there with me while I had it shaved though- it did make the experience more fun and less traumatic.
Wednesday, September 19, 2012
Hair today, gone tonight
This is what happened this morning. I have hair everywhere, all over my clothes, my house, everywhere :( tonight we are shaving it off. I am kind of freaking out right now, hoping i get over it by thus evening!
Monday, September 17, 2012
ears, boobs, and wigs
I still struggle with what to wear because the maste ctomy form they gave me at the hospital just isn't useable. The nice silicone breast forms are very expensive and really I wasn't sure how useful it would be to have one since my boob size will be constantly changing. However, while I was at the breast cancer store in the hospital picking up my wig, I found out that they have a neat silicone form that actually has stuffing in the back so you can still change the size of it during reconstruction. AND my insurance will cover it 100%! Now I just need to find the time to go in there and get fitted for my fake boob.
My wig turned out beautiful! It is the perfect shade of red. I had to buy shampoo, a brush, and a wig stand for it. I tried to set it up in my bedroom on a little shelf, but the wig looked kind of creepy. I decided to put it back in it's box until I need to use it, maybe it won't be quite as creepy then.
Oh and here is a crazy little tidbit of info: my first chemo treatment cost $24,000(!!!!) Holy shit!!!!!! And that is only for 3 of the drugs, as my test drug is free. Is that not insane? And of course my insurance reduced that amount and I only have to pay $300 but still- what a crazy number-24,000. I never would have imagined that it was THAT expensive!
If I last the whole day without losing my hair, it's a good day!
I am now at that point that my hairloss could occur at any moment. I do hair checks multiple times a day, and so far things are still good! I seem to spend a lot of time on my hair lately, making sure it looks really good, since its days are limited. Once I lose it, I wont look normal anymore. Well, I guess I really dont look normal now since I do have only 1 boob, but at least I don't look sick. I have been pretty okay with everything else up to pinpoint and I hope tailoring my hair will be the same, but I feel this panic growing inside me, terrified of looking like a cancer patient. My scalp started getting very sensitive and tingley last night. I think that is the feeling of my hair follicles dying. Tick tock, any day now....
Saturday, September 15, 2012
Cardboard
Tuesday, September 11, 2012
Whaaaaa!
I wigged out Cameron
I decided to trick Cameron when he came home from school- I put my moms wig on and acted completely normal. Mind you- my moms wig is reddish, but very short- very different from how I wear my hair. Cam came home and I was talking to him and he was responding but hadn't really looked at me yet. Then all the sudden he looked up and his eyes almost popped out of his head! Oh, I wish I had video taped that moment! He then nervously looked down and continued the conversation, but he looked up again and got those big eyes again... oh it was so funny. You could tell he was THRILLED with it, and with the idea of me being bald. He really things this is going to be such a funny thing. So finally he gets up the courage to ask if I was wearing a wig now? When I said yes, he was beaming. He then asked- can I see under it? Are you bald? He was sooo hopeful about that! LOL! So he was disappointed that I still had hair but man, that moment is one of those things I don't think I will ever forget. That kid sure does make me laugh!
so far, so good!
Got the kids to school then went with my mom to order my wig. I did notice while doing my makeup that my skin was RED. It looked like i had a sunburn on my cheeks, arms, and chest. I was also really hot- my guess is that it was the steroids causing that. Other than the red thing though, things were still going well. I ordered the wig and also found another possible wig that looked pretty cute- Need to check the other wig shop for that though because the one in the hospital is just too expensive. My mom and I went out for lunch, I didn't eat a ton, as I just didn't feel super hungry, but I was soooo thirsty. I had probably consumed a gallon of liquids by lunch!! After lunch we stopped at trader joes for some protein powder, then home. By that time, I met up with Jim and had to go get my neulasta shot. Luckily I didn't have to go all the way back to downtown- they let me come in to their office at the hospital near our house. I was just there for a shot, so I didn't really expect any drama. They sat me down and took my blood pressure. I apparently failed. 90/56 isn't the number they were looking for (picky, picky!) The nurse acts all nervous and asks the other nurse what to do...probably wondering whether to try again or get a body bag since I was almost dead! Really 90 is low, even for me but often it is at 100, and the week before it was 93...the nurses were worried that I might need a bag of fluids though- but trust me, fluids were NOT something I needed! Remember the gallon of fluids already consumed today? Anymore fluids right then, and I might just pop! I finally convinced then that I was feeling fine, so they gave me my shot. Then I had to sit around for 15 minutes make sure I didnt have a reaction. Then it was home for the rest of the day. I was starting to get pretty tired!
Overnight there was one slight moment that I thought I might feel nauseaus- so I got out of bed and took a pill real quick (in addition to the meds they gave me to take regardless, just to stay on top of it) Then I went to bed and that was the only hint of sickness that I had! YEAH!!!! I was still having occasional bouts of lung issues and I know this is TERRIBLE, but I didn't call the doctor. I knew that they would either up my steroids or make me take them longer and frankly I just couldn't bear it. I made sure I could breathe and that my airways didn't seem to be blocked- and I told Jim to keep an eye on me, but that was it. I just couldn't do more steroids. Those weird pills wont let me sleep, and I need sleep!
Friday things were still pretty good, but I was certainly getting tired. Then Saturday- yep, Saturday was THE day. I woke up with this weird stiffness in my upper body and my skin was actually painful to touch. And I was so, so, SO tired. I think I slept most of the day.
Sunday was much better but then Ethan woke up sick. Are you freaking kidding me?? I can not have sick people in the house! He was good about hand washing though, thank goodness- and so far I seem to have not gotten his cold. I still lounged most of the day- and it was 2 solid days at that point, of wearing my pjs. Finally though, I decided that Ethan needed his haircut. I announced to him that I was going to get dressed and we were going to leave the house, so he needed to get ready. He actually told me- yea, Right, you are SO not getting dressed. LMAO!!! He then went upstairs and ignored me because he totally didn't believe I had it in me to get ready. I did though and he was so shocked! It did feel good to get out of the house!
I am very happy that chemo doesn't seem soooo terrible.
Thursday, September 6, 2012
who needs sleep anyway?
Wednesday, September 5, 2012
Chemo day #1
Here I am while all bundled up and icing my hands!
Overall- it wasn't bad at all- it just took a long time! Once I got home I felt kind of 'off' and food didn't sound very good. I didn't really feel queasy but just not normal. I took a zofran just in case. I ate dinner after that and really felt pretty normal. Yeah- Day one of chemo: complete! 5 more to go!
Tuesday, September 4, 2012
The big day is coming up!
Then I remembered that i needed to drink one of the containers of barium in preparation for the CT scan the next morning. I chose berry flavor; it was nasty but really not as nasty as i thought it would be. The trick to it is that it must be cold, and you should use a big straw! i stuck that straw as far down my mouth as i could then sucked and sucked till i had to stop and come up for air! When I told Jim how I drank it, he said 'oh, so basically you deep throated it?' yes, Jim, I guess I did! By Tuesday morning, I was a real pro,I grabbed that bottle and sucked it dont with a straw in 2 monster size sips. The tech gave me yet another glass full right before my scan- he expected me to take awhile to gag it down, but instead I demanded a straw and finished it in about 2 seconds. The tech was VERY impressed! Then he gave me an iodine injection. Interestingly, years ago I had a reaction to an iodine injection, but it wasn't an allergy- it just made me puke. I was honestly really curious if this would happen again, or if it was just a fluke (fluke puke) so I let him give it to me. I didn't say a word about any bad previous reactions. Just to be sure though, I pulled my hair up out of the way and made sure the hospital gown covered my shirt...just in case! Thank goodness it went well! See, I never would have found that out if I had been honest! My exam also went well, and I start chemo tomorrow! I should also add, my mom and I went to grocery store afterward. They had taffy out and I got a bunch. When we got home I tried the huckleberry flavor. It actually made me gag. Thank you berry flavored barium! Thank you!
Then, I had to pick up my rx's at the drugstore- in preperation for chemo- 2 anti nausea meds and some steriods. I was told to take the steriods as soon as possible- it helps prevent an allergic reaction to the chemo meds- not only are they poisonous (basically) they also cause allergic responses. nice. So, I got home and took my steroids and holy cow- I was so buzzed that I felt drunk. Very weird!
All ready for tomorrow!










