I am feeling pretty good this week! Jim had a few days off, so we all got to spend a little time with him finally, the housekeeper came so our house is clean again, and now the kids are off for Thanksgiving break. Ethan asked my yesterday if I was going to have chemo this week. He was really concerned that I might have to and then wouldn't want any thanksgiving food! LOL! The reality is eh, most of it really won't taste good anyway- even if it is my 'good' week. While I can't wait for this to be over and my taste to return to normal, I also really hope my aversion to bread/cake stuff sticks with me. I could really do with less of that in my diet.
Jim and I have talked about diet changes and I think we are both going to try to make some serious changes- I think we are going to try to have a mostly vegetarian diet. I have done this before and it was a breeze, but that was before kids! Now I have 3 picky eaters so I am not sure how to make that work exactly! Of course they are like their mom in their way of thinking- they don't really agree with keeping animals in terrible conditions, and killing them, just for us to eat. That being said- they aren't very keen on vegetables other than green beans and corn. The other dietary change I would like to make is a low sugar diet- but without using artificial sweeteners, I honestly don't know how to do that. Avoiding sugary foods isn't really an option! I have some time to figure it all out- I am really not making myself avoid much of anything while doing chemo- I don't have the energy for it. If it sounds good- I am eating it!
I think we are planning on going to visit Jim's dad for Thanksgiving. We will stay in Tulsa for a couple of days, then come back home. It will be really nice to get away. I don't think I will have any problems- the only side effects I am having is twitching, mild heartburn, and terrible, terrible muscle weakness. None of it really keeps my from going or doing- except I can hardly bend down and I have to lie straight while in bed. It is very weird and I do not understand it at all. hot soaks in the tub, light stretching, short walks- none of it helps! I guess I will feel better in January as far as that goes!
Oh- and I a get to go to the plastic surgeon for another fill tomorrow. I am starting to have a decent size fake boob. I don't need to use a prosthesis in my bra anymore- but the bottom half of my bra is basically empty. I hope that part starts to even out but I kind of doubt that it will. Soon my fake boob is going to be a lot bigger than my real boob. That is going to be weird. It's big enough and hard enough that I could start using it as a shelf if I run out of space elsewhere to place things.
No comments:
Post a Comment