Its been a rough couple of days here, unfortunately. Last week (1 week after chemo) I felt wonderful! I thought that it was odd that at my last labwork appt, they told me that my hemoglobin was low; because I didn't feel tired really, like you usually do with low iron. However, the day before that my legs had started getting sore. I thought it was kind of a fluke but it started getting worse and worse- I would walk from one end of the house to the other and it made my leg muscles feel like I had been running on the treadmill for 30 minutes. Then my hands started not cooperating- I couldn't manuver them well enough to tie a scarf on my head, and they also get really shakey at times. I started thinking it must be the low HGB levels, because I already had my low from chemo and had gotten better. So I called the clinic yesterday and went into have my bloodwork a day early. Turns out my HGB levels had gone up (gotten better) and everything else looked great too. So- it is just chemo and there is nothing they can do to fix it. I was actually really upset because I wanted it to be something fixable. I had soooo hoped it was just the low HGB, I could get a blood transfusion, then go home and start feeling better. Yes, I was actually looking forward to the thought of a blood transfusion. I guess when you sit in a chair every 3 weeks for 6 hours getting poison pumped though your veins, things like blood transfusions just aren't that intimidating anymore.... I am really very worried that the way I am now is the best I will be for the next 2 months. The hard part of this is that in my mind I feel great. I do not feel tired, and I don't feel like I need to rest or nap- I feel rather energetic, but then I go to move around and my body is not cooperating with me. It sucks!
I have to take the kids trick-or-treating tonight and I am really worried about how I am going to be able to do it. I am going to try to sit around and be still as much as possible today so that I will hopefully have more mobility tonight. Not looking good though because just takingSloane in to her preschool class, I could barely walk :( And no, I won't be having the neighbors take the kids for me- I have the very best costume in the world- it ROCKS! And I will wear it and walk around the neighborhood if it damn near kills me.
No comments:
Post a Comment