Well, surprisingly my leg acheyness wasn't debilitating after halloween, but it was still there, and it still is. Other than that, I feel relatively well. Thank goodness because I have been very busy with the kids lately! There was halloween, then getting the kids to karate after school. Saturday was insane! Cameron had karate early, then Ethan had a karate belt test that afternoon. Immediately after the belt test, I had to run Ethan to the middle school ( far away in the middle of nowhere) because he had an opportunity to see/hear a professional symphony. There was no time to go home, and he had to be dressed nicely, so I brought clothes with and made him change in the car on the way there- NOT something a 12 year old boy wants to do, but we had no choice. We got there just in the nick of time to drop him off. He ended up not getting home till midnight! wow! Thankfully Jim was off that night, so I made him go pick Ethan up while I went to bed- I figured I had already done my running around for the day!
I ended up being very happy that Jim was off Saturday night- Sloane came down with a stomach bug and threw up about 6 times in the night. For the first time in my life as a mother- I never got up with my sick kid- haha! Jim did it all! Mind you- he didn't have to get out of bed- he is working nights, so on his day off, he just stays up all night long so really- cleaning up puke gave him something to do. LOL! I was very thankful that it happened that night!
Monday I had my labwork and pre-chemo doctor appt, as well as an appointment with my plastic surgeon. Sloane was still sick so I was in quite a predicament. She couldn't go to school, and I couldn't bring her with me, as kids aren't allowed in the chemo room (that is where I go to get my labwork since they have to access my port) not to mention, bringing a sick kids to a place full of people with little or no immune system would probably be frowned upon! Luckily I have wonderful neighbors! My friend Leah, whom lives across the street didn't mind taking my pukey child into her house for the day. Thankfully she didn't throw up, she just layed on the couch and watched a movie.
I was hoping to get home as quickly as possible so I could take care of Sloane but you know how the best laid plans go.... As soon as I got to the lab, I knew I was in trouble. There was a long wait just go get my labs drawn! I finally got that done, and went downstairs to wait for my appointment. After awhile I started getting nervous- I was needing to be at my plastic surgeons office in 20 minutes! I talked to Fred (the best nurse ever) and told her I would go to my other appt, get my boob filled, and be right back. I NEVER have to wait at my plastic surgeons......yea. She was fine with me going, so I left- got to my other appointment and guess what, I waited and waited :( I finally got my fill- and boy I knew when he got to 50cc's! OUCH! I really felt a lot of pressure this time, and actually it turned to pain rather quickly. He told me that I may need to slow down my fills if I am starting to feel that- yet I don't have time. I need to be finished with this process by the end of december, so that I will be done before I start radiation. Hopefully it all goes well! Anyway- I left there, and quickly returned to my oncologists. I got into a room pretty quickly but then there was some sort of emergency upstairs so I was in there forever. I really started getting kind of pissed. I initially got there at 10 am, and here it was after 1pm and I am still there! Well, the NP finally came in and told my my labs were fine, and the echo that I had done the week before was also fine. She wasn't sure what my muscle fatigue/weakness was from. I have also been having some twitching in my arms and in my face- I didn't really think there was a 'fix' for that, but she told me to drink one small bottle of tonic water a day- apparently it has quinine in it, which stops the twitching! Jokingly, I asked- with gin? She said: sure! gin, vodka, I don't care what you put in it, just make sure you drink 1 a day! I must try it because I am very curious to see if it helps! I am also starting to get watery eyes. Those are caused from the Taxotere- and they are called: Taxotears! hahahahaha! Yes, for real! It isn't too bad yet, but I do need to make sure to have a tissue in my purse at all times, just in case I start 'crying'.
The very worst news of my doctors appointment: my weight. I found out that I have gained about 12 pounds since my diagnosis. crap! I knew my pants were getting tight, but I didn't think I was up that much! It really upsets me. During my 'good weeks' I really need to make more of an effort to eat healthy/light foods rather than this free pass shit that I do when I don't feel good. Almost makes me wish chemo WOULD make me puke! Or at least make me not interested in food. Why didn't I get THAT kind of chemo???
I finally got out of there close to 2pm. That was a really long appointment! (well, 2 actually)
Then, in the evening, Ethan had his first band concert of the year. As per my agreement with Ethan, I had to wear my wig. I really don't like to wear my wig that much, and certainly not for 2+ hours! That thing is itchy! I was so worried about it, I took a pain pill right before I left so that I would be sort of 'happy' when I was there, and not mind my wig so much! I also decided to try out a wig cap- I haven't worn one with my wig before because I was worried about it making me hotter, and since starting chemo I am always so hot and sweaty (chemopause!) Thankfully it worked. The wig was much less itchy with the wig cap on and I didn't break into a sweat too badly.
And now I am ready to begin number 4 tomorrow!
No comments:
Post a Comment