I found out at my appt before treatment that radiation is on the table- something fun to occupy my time after chemo.... I knew it was likely, but I still hoped from every inch of me that they would say NO- you dont need radiation! The truth is, it just doesn't fit my schedule. I was hoping to start school in January, since it already got pushed back. Even without RADS it would be hard to do- I still will have my herceptin infusions until next september, and I still have my reconstruction. Rads aren't terrible from what I have heard but I don't have the freaking time!!!! And it will mess up my reconstruction- possibly resulting in me needing surgery to remove skin from my back to put on my boob since the radiation treatments will ruin my boob skin :( Well, I see my plastic surgeon soon so I will ask him what he thinks of it all, and maybe get a better timeline for everything.
Jim took me to treatment #2. It was a really long day- we got there at 8:30, upstairs for labs, downstairs for doctor appt that took FOREVER. She gave me more rx for heartburn and some other meds to take to help with the bone pain from neulasta- I now get to add claritin once a day, 2 aleve 2x a day, and some delicious glutimate powder. The doctor seemed pleased with the amount of side effects I had other than the bone pain, so she sent me on my merry way- upstairs for chemo. I got up there at 10:30, and there werent any chairs available- full house today! They finally got a chair ready for me and it was almost noon before they even hooked my up to my premeds. Jim was still haning around but he just stood in the middle of the pod, playing with his phone, not even talking to me- finally I was annoyed enough that I told him to just leave... There were some nice girls sitting with me getting treatments. One of the women was getting her last chemo- she was SO excited! Whoever turned the television on, put it on a western channel- It was terrible. There were all these old shows on that were horribly boring. Sad thing is-of all us women sitting there, you know none of us were enjoying what was on the tv, but none of us did anything to get the channel changed. I sat there until 5:30 watching Bonanza type shows.... Jim came by and picked me up. I didnt feel terrible but I was a little queasy- ugh, not how I want to start out a new cycle!

No comments:
Post a Comment