What a nice long weekend I had! My mom flew in from Idaho on Saturday. Yeah my mommy is here! then on Sunday we had a few friends over for bbq ribs and alcohol! Monday we relaxed, which was really quite annoying because i knew how much i needed to do the next day, but oh well, we did enjoy relaxing!
Then I remembered that i needed to drink one of the containers of barium in preparation for the CT scan the next morning. I chose berry flavor; it was nasty but really not as nasty as i thought it would be. The trick to it is that it must be cold, and you should use a big straw! i stuck that straw as far down my mouth as i could then sucked and sucked till i had to stop and come up for air! When I told Jim how I drank it, he said 'oh, so basically you deep throated it?' yes, Jim, I guess I did! By Tuesday morning, I was a real pro,I grabbed that bottle and sucked it dont with a straw in 2 monster size sips. The tech gave me yet another glass full right before my scan- he expected me to take awhile to gag it down, but instead I demanded a straw and finished it in about 2 seconds. The tech was VERY impressed! Then he gave me an iodine injection. Interestingly, years ago I had a reaction to an iodine injection, but it wasn't an allergy- it just made me puke. I was honestly really curious if this would happen again, or if it was just a fluke (fluke puke) so I let him give it to me. I didn't say a word about any bad previous reactions. Just to be sure though, I pulled my hair up out of the way and made sure the hospital gown covered my shirt...just in case! Thank goodness it went well! See, I never would have found that out if I had been honest! My exam also went well, and I start chemo tomorrow! I should also add, my mom and I went to grocery store afterward. They had taffy out and I got a bunch. When we got home I tried the huckleberry flavor. It actually made me gag. Thank you berry flavored barium! Thank you!
Then, I had to pick up my rx's at the drugstore- in preperation for chemo- 2 anti nausea meds and some steriods. I was told to take the steriods as soon as possible- it helps prevent an allergic reaction to the chemo meds- not only are they poisonous (basically) they also cause allergic responses. nice. So, I got home and took my steroids and holy cow- I was so buzzed that I felt drunk. Very weird!
All ready for tomorrow!
No comments:
Post a Comment