Tuesday, September 11, 2012

so far, so good!

i am now 4 days past my chemo day, and it has taken me this long to feel human enough to write.  Really I haven't felt  like I was on my deathbed or anything, but still a pretty good amount of weird shit.  The day of chemo I really felt pretty normal.  When I went to bed, I noticed that I had some weird breathing issue.  I could breathe, but my lungs just felt....unhappy?  I slept on a pile of pillows and that seemed to help.   Well, except that I woke up REALLY early :(  But, when I got up on Thursday, I was feeling pretty good.
Got the kids to school then went with my mom to order my wig.  I did notice while doing my makeup that my skin was RED. It looked like i had a sunburn on my cheeks, arms, and chest.  I was also really hot- my guess is that it was the steroids causing that.  Other than the red thing though, things were still going well.   I ordered the wig and also found another possible wig that looked pretty cute- Need to check the other wig shop for that though because the one in the hospital is just too expensive.  My mom and I went out for lunch,   I didn't eat a ton, as I just didn't feel super hungry, but I was soooo thirsty.  I had probably consumed a gallon of liquids by lunch!!  After lunch we stopped at trader joes for some protein powder, then home.    By that time, I met up with Jim and had to go get my neulasta shot.  Luckily I didn't have to go all the way back to downtown- they let me come in to their office at the hospital near our house.   I was just there for a shot, so I didn't really expect any drama.  They sat me down and took my blood pressure.  I apparently failed.  90/56 isn't the number they were looking for (picky, picky!)  The nurse acts all nervous and asks the other nurse what to do...probably wondering whether to try again or get a body bag since I was almost dead!   Really 90 is low, even for me but often it is at 100, and the week before it was 93...the nurses were worried that I might need a bag of fluids though- but trust me, fluids were NOT something I needed!  Remember the gallon of fluids already consumed today?  Anymore fluids right then, and I might just pop!  I finally convinced then that I was feeling fine, so they gave me my shot.  Then I had to sit around for 15 minutes make sure I didnt have a reaction.  Then it was home for the rest of the day.  I was starting to get pretty tired!
Overnight there was one slight moment that I thought I might feel nauseaus- so I got out of bed and took a pill real quick (in addition to the meds they gave me to take regardless, just to stay on top of it) Then I went to bed and that was the only hint of sickness that I had! YEAH!!!!  I was still having occasional bouts of lung issues and I know this is TERRIBLE, but I didn't call the doctor.  I knew that they would either up my steroids or make me take them longer and frankly I just couldn't bear it.  I made sure I could breathe and that my airways didn't seem to be blocked- and I told Jim to keep an eye on me, but that was it.  I just couldn't do more steroids.  Those weird pills wont let me sleep, and I need sleep!  
Friday things were still pretty good, but I was certainly getting tired.  Then Saturday- yep, Saturday was THE day.  I woke up with this weird stiffness in my upper body and my skin was actually painful to touch.  And I was so, so, SO tired.  I think I slept most of the day. 
Sunday was much better but then Ethan woke up sick.  Are you freaking kidding me?? I can not have sick people in the house!  He was good about hand washing though, thank goodness- and so far I seem to have not gotten his cold.    I still lounged most of the day- and it was 2 solid days at that point, of wearing my pjs.  Finally though, I decided that Ethan needed his haircut.  I announced to him that I was going to get dressed and we were going to leave the house, so he needed to get ready.  He actually told me- yea, Right, you are SO not getting dressed.  LMAO!!! He then went upstairs and ignored me because he totally didn't believe I had it in me to get ready.  I did though and he was so shocked!  It did feel good to get out of the house! 
I am very happy that chemo doesn't seem soooo terrible.

1 comment:

  1. During chemo I always felt like I was out of breath. It turned out it wasn't my lungs, it was just that I had less red blood cells to carry the oxygen. Just try to take it as easy as you can. The chemo can cause skin issues, too.

    ReplyDelete