Yesterday was yet another crazy day. The kids are in school now, and I have 3 kids, all in different schools. None take the bus in the mornings-so I carpool with neighbors, which is nice on weeks off- crazy on weeks I drive. I took the first week for middle and elementary school because it would be my 'good' chemo week. Then of course, I have Sloane in preschool and I drive her myself every day. So, my mornings this week have been insane-make 3 lunches, fill up the car with elementary school kids and take them across the street to school, come back and pick up middle school kids, come back have a cup of coffee and then take Sloane to school. Ahhhhh! Except yesterday was extra crazy. I did all the morning stuff- then went straight from Sloane's school to my oncology appt. Then I was supposed to hurry back from that and go straight to my dentist appt. Well- that IS what I did, but let me just say it wasn't pretty.
Got to oncology appt and had to get labs- which meant I had to go up to chemo room because no way am I letting them poke my arm when I have a lovely handy dandy port :) Got that done, then downstairs to wait for my appt. Today I didn't see Dr. Young, I saw her NP for the first time. While I was waiting the research nurse came in and made me fill out a 4 page survey about my bowel movements and pain levels. Yep- 4 pages of that. Apparently I will fill that out at every appointment. They like to know how much I poop and the exact consistency. At least they don't want pictures, I guess. I do love the research nurse though- she is a pretty cool lady and I like seeing her when I go in. When the NP finally came in she gave me the results of my bone scan- no cancer! yeah! I do have arthritis in my right shoulder, and both of my big toes, as well as degenerative problems in my lower back. She did an exam and said everything looked really good but that she could feel how tight the muscle is in my armpit. I told her 'Yea it's tight- it's 2 inches shorter than it's supposed to be- I am sure of it!' She told me to do my stretches. I DO do my stretches. All.day.long. It doesn't seem to loosen up that tricep muscle no matter how much I work at it.
She also said she would send in a referral for the Lymphedema specialist- yeah! I definately want to stay on top of that. Then she asked if I had my chemo class. They don't mean the one at the hospital- this is just a class they give to tell you you are taking poison and it may kill you. Then you sign forms. No I haven't taken that class yet- why the hell does it have to be a class? Just tell me I may die and I will sign the forms. I don't really see the issue there... whatever- I must have the class.
I also found out that they already have ice in the chemo room for my hand and feet- I use it during one of the chemo drugs because it causes nerve damage and also makes your nails die- the ice helps with that! Many chemo rooms do not stock ice so you need to bring your own frozen peas- glad I don't have to do that! Also- they have blankets! yeah! One less thing to pack in my bag :)
I finally made it out of there at the exact time I was supposed to be AT my dentist for my emergency dentist appointment that was 30 minutes away. Great! I called them and said I was at my oncology appointment and that they made me late (Yes I made sure to say oncology so they would feel sorry for me and keep my appointment!) I told them I would be there in 20 minutes. I then hopped in my car and flew like a bat out of hell. I made it there in 20 minutes! Awesome! But you know- things never really work out as planned. They had trouble with one of the forms they made for my temporary crown. After all the dental work was done they tried to put the crown on and couldn't fit it right. It took an entire hour of retrying before they finally got it right. Ugh!
At this point- I am supposed to be home because I just hired a housekeeper and she is now at my house waiting for me while I am STILL at the dentist! I called my neighbor Sara, said HI! And as soon as I said that, the dental assistant stuck a new impression form thing in my mouth! LMAO! So the rest of the conversation went like- caaa ooo eee u aaee i ooo aaa ouuuuuu? (Can you let the lady into my house?) Of course she was laughing pretty hard- and was like- Are you at the dentist??? uuuhuuuu. I have no idea how but she understood me and let the housekeeper in.
I finally finished up with the dentist and made it home completely exhausted. It was very lovely to see that the housekeeper was already hard at work doing something I just don't have the energy to do. It took her 5 hours, but my house is so beautiful! Ahhhh! That was definately a nice thing to treat myself to!
I think on friday Jim and I are going shopping for a tablet- Jim REALLY wants to hurry and get it. For me. Uh huh. I am thinking not for me, so much as for him... Then my mom comes on Saturday- everyone is so excited! And I am looking forward to a nice and maybe somewhat relaxing weekend.
Yesterday, I went for a doc appt at the UNC hospital and then over to the Cancer Hospital for my mammogram. You were on my mind much of the time. Just saying.
ReplyDelete(( ^_^ ))
Making people get mammograms at cancer hospital is not nice! Lol! Did it go well?
ReplyDelete