Tuesday, August 14, 2012

much better!

Today was much better than yesterday.  I am not messing with my 'foob' again until after my next fill at the plastic surgeons.  Until then it is good enough, I figure. 
First thing this morning I was on the phone trying to fix all of yesterdays craziness.  Talked to the nurse navigator at my oncologists office and explained that fridays are the one and only day during the week that my daughter has off from preschool and that is OUR day.  I will NOT have appointments that day.  She totally got it and said it will get fixed ;)  It's good to know that I have people that have got my back.  I now have an echo scheduled tomorrow morning, bright and early and hopefully the other appointments will be soon to follow. 
Today I went to a Look Good, Feel Better class.  It is supposed to show you how to take care of your skin and nails during cancer treatment, as well as how to tie scarves, etc.  Well the class itself wasn't anything more than what you might teach a middle school girl- very disappointing!  They did teach us how to draw on eyebrows but it looked terrible.  LUCKILY, there was a lady in there- I like to call her 'Pretty Lady'  She was so beautiful. Chemo has already done it's job on her so she had no body hair at all- she came with her makeup on and looked beautiful and had GREAT eyebrows and a nicely tied scarf.  THIS is what I want to look like when I go through chemo!  There were a few others there that were baldies, but they just weren't as radiant as Pretty Lady.    After the makeup teacher went over how to do eyebrows, me and the lady I was sitting next to decided we wanted to know more about Pretty Lady.  So- I asked how SHE did her eyebrows because there were not merely drawn on.  She pulled out her stencil and showed us what she uses to apply it.  I was really disappointed that the instructor didn't go over stencils or anything of the sort because that really looked so much better.  The last part of the class was scarves.  They showed us how to make a tshirt scarf by cutting an old tshirt up.  yea, I can see how it would be okay in a pinch, but really it looked kinda ghetto.   So, again- I speak up and ask Pretty Lady how she did hers, and were they rectangle scarves that you can buy for around your neck or what?  No, they are square ones!  And she showed us how to tie it on, and accessories that she used to make it prettier and stay on a bit tighter.  THANK YOU Pretty Lady!  Now, the big perk of the class is that you get a big bag of freebies- I got some Chanel, Estee Lauder, and OPI products- so pretty good stuff!    And while the class itself wasn't great I did learn from it, and it was so nice to see people there on chemo that looked MUCH better than the people I saw yesterday in the chemo room.  Near the end of class, the nurse came and took Pretty Lady away because she needed to get some iv fluids because she wasn't feeling well.  Man- she looked wonderful, I would have never guessed she was not feeling well.  PLEASE let me be like her!!!!
The woman next to me also had breast cancer.  I think she was early on in her diagnosis.  Still getting tests and waiting for surgery- poor woman was scared to death and still pretty weepy.  When I told her I was only12 days out from surgery she was amazed.  I tried to reassure her that waiting was the worst, after surgery it really does get better.  I think it did make her feel a bit better- I hope it did.  I really did hate the waiting.
Now on to tomorrow.  Echo will be early, then chemo teaching class at the hospital at 11.  This will be a class for both Jim and I.  Hahahaha.  Jim was dumb and answered the phone when his work called- thus causing him to be forced to come in- so he got 1 hour of sleep before work then he will get about 2 tomorrow morning before the class....yea- that will be interesting.  I left him unattended for 5 minutes- and after 5 years of training him to NOT answer the phone if it is work- see what happens when I am not there?  Ahhh hard lesson learned Jim ;)

No comments:

Post a Comment