I can't believe how slow time is moving along. I am still waiting to hear from the oncologist. I *think* that I will feel a lot better after talking to her, and get a better idea of the general timeline of everything. At first I seemed okay with waiting a month for surgery...then the lump started hurting again. So of course then I started wondering' ohh shit, can I actually feel it growing? I am pretty sure it IS growing. Growing and spreading. It will probably be in my brain in another month!' See- I really need an appt with the oncologist so she can talk me down. But now it is friday and I know I won't hear from anyone until at least monday- booo! So I went in search of answers on Google. There were tons and tons of posts on different forums with women freaking out about the exact same issue. It turns out that 4-6 weeks is a completely normal amount of time to have to wait- even for aggressive breast cancers, especially if reconstruction is going to be done- because the breast surgeon and the plastic surgeon will both have to be there at the same time. Then it is usually 4 weeks after surgery before chemo starts. There certainly is no- hurry up and get this done attitude going on apparently.
Jim and I have decided for sure on a unilateral mastectomy. Possibly bilateral- we will wait and see. My feeling is that if I am going to be horribly deformed after this, I may as well really go for it, and have less risk for recurrance while I am at it.
My MRI is scheduled for next week- I am not sure whether it will actually occur or not, because if they are chopping off my boob then no need to look for more tumors in it... however- they might find something on the other side that the mammogram missed. That is up to the surgeon I guess. Then, I also see the genetic counselor next week. I have to fill out this insanely long survey, in which I have to figure out exactly how many months I breastfed: 46, Exactly how many years I was on birth control- uhhhh not even sure about that one but I made up something somewhat close....I think. And how many months of fertility treatments....jeez- I didn't ever think to keep track of all that stuff! Then a complete family history of all the things medically wrong with any and all family members. All of this to determine if I could possibly have the breast cancer gene. Well, really the only question they really have to ask is do you know both sides of your family? no? okay- lets test you! Ohhh, but it gets even better. After I finish the survery, I go in and meet with a genetic counselor at the same time that i get my blood test for this gene. The genetic counselor will then talk to me about the possibilities and my 'options'. WTF? I am not pregnant with a baby that I may or may not abort. I just need the blood test, and the results. I don't need 'counseling' on my options!
No comments:
Post a Comment