Sunday, January 13, 2013

First non chemo infusion!

Well, Wednesday I went in for my first Herceptin + Pertuzemab/placebo infusion.  I have been repetedly told that this will be nothing like chemo, and will be a piece of cake.  Herceptin can cause some flu-like aches and pains and that's about it. First of all- you can't say something will be flu-like and also say it's a piece of cake- the two ideas do NOT go together.  I should have realized this right from the start.     I have seen people in the chemo room getting just Herceptin.  They are in and out of their chair in 30 minutes.  No- I am not that lucky.  I am doing the drug trial for Pertuzemab so it is much longer- 30 minutes for Herceptin, 30 minutes waiting, 30 minutes Pertuzemab (or placebo), then 60 minutes waiting....2.5 hours!  I haven't been too inconvenienced by being on a drug trial until now.  Now it is very hard to sit and wait an additional 2 hours for what may be the placebo.    Oh well- at least I like the people there!
While I was at my appointment with Dr. Young, I was asking her opinion on Diep flaps- and how she thought they looked, and if the women were happy with their tummy boobs ;)  She gave me some good information, then told me that she has a patient that would probably be happy to meet with me to answer my questions and let me see her boobs!  How awesome is it, that my doctor is setting me up with a woman so I can 'feel her up'!!!  I am very excited about this.  I have spent hours on the internet looking at various boob procedures and the end results, but I cant feel them or see how they actually 'perform' in different situations.   Yes, I know as you are reading this, it sounds rediculous.  Unless you have had a boob removed, you have just never had to face all these crazy questions! 
I have since talked to this woman and we have made a 'date' at the oncologists office during her next appointment.  She is very happy with the surgery and the surgeon that did the procedure.  Her surgery was last April, so there has been plenty of time for her to heal, which is nice because I will see something closer to the 'end' result.  I am more sure now, that this is the right procedure for me. 
As for the herceptin- Oy!    I felt great the day of infusion!  It was nice not having to take steroids or any premeds.  I just felt normal!  Thursday was the first day I had some extra time to myself, so I decided to get some much needed errands done.  I had a trip to Toys R Us, which went fine.  Then I went to Costco- about 1/3 of the way through I was holding back tears.  I wanted to just lay down and cry because I was SOOO tired!  I still had more shopping to do!  Ack!  I decided to scrap the grocery store trip and just grab something at Costco for dinner.  I barely was able to finish that trip.  Friday I was still tired, and had a little more pain than on a normal day but nothing terrible.  By friday night though my legs were having a lot of problems.  Usually on the Saturday after chemo I kind of do this shuffle walk thing.  I can't walk normally- I am stiff and my legs hurt and just don't work the way they should- so I take teeny tiny steps (think Morticia Addams in her teeny tiny, tight at the bottom dresses- except way less sexy)  I was really thinking that was a chemo thing- nope, it was Herceptin!  bah!   I have also had heartburn- and I did not have that the week leading up to my infusion.  It also feels like I have fluid in my ears again- not nearly as bad as I would during chemo but definately something I don't feel when I am 'normal'.  Today is sunday, and my legs are starting to feel better but they are still weak and painful- I imagine it will be worse tonight- it's always worse at night. 
The good part- no more icing my fingers, no more tasts changes, no more steroids, no more nausea!  Which leaves me with pain, legs not working right, heartburn, clogged ears, and risidual eye watering, twitching, and muscle pain in my arms and legs.  They don't consider it chemo but I still have all those side effects AND have to sit in that damn chair for 2.5 hours every 3 weeks.  I will call it Chemo Lite!  I can not wait for September to come so it can be over and done with!

No comments:

Post a Comment