Thursday, July 5, 2012

genetic testing

Well, I went in for my genetic testing today.  I expected the appointment with the genetic counselor to be quite boring but it was fun!  I sort of feel like I learned enough to receive some college credit for a science class or something... ;)
Here is some of what I learned- everyone HAS the BRCA gene markers- but some people receive broken ones- THAT is when you get cancer- or at least one of the times that makes it possible.  If my test comes back for having faulty BRCA 1 or 2, then they know that I have a significantly higher risk of getting a new cancer in my other breast, as well as a higher chance of ovarian cancer.  Beyond that- there are about 20 other breast cancer gene markers- these can let you know that you are at a higher risk of breast cancer + whatever other type aka: brain, stomach, bladder, colon, etc.  They can get so much information from those tiny little gene markers!  If the test results come back fine for BRCA, then they will enroll me in a study to test many other markers and it will be free.  If the test for BRCA  comes back positive for having the mutation or break down, then I will need to have my ovaries removed in the next 2 years. Yeah- no boobs, chemo, AND menopause!  Please, please, PLEASE let me pass this test!!!!!
While I was there, I also asked about getting a complete dna test- just for the heck of it.  Not that I plan on doing this right now, but I don't know anything about my father and it would be cool to find something/anything out.  Apparently it would cost about $10,000.  ohhhh- yea, I will wait on that!  She said that in about 10 years she expects it to be much more affordable, as well as much more helpful because they are still trying to figure out what all the genes do, and what they can predict. 

No comments:

Post a Comment