Yesterday I had my 1 year mammogram. The week leading up went very well and I have felt pretty calm about the whole thing. More than anything I felt the need to get it done just to make sure there was nothing questionable on my good side before surgery- because if there were, I would need to have it lopped off asap and have them both done during reconstruction. Then yesterday morning I was a tad nervous, but I was thankful that I had plenty to keep my busy before my appointment- my weekly massage therapy appt, then I was supposed to have lunch with a friend I made in chemo, then off to my mammogram. Well, my massage appt got canceled because power to the entire building was out, I never heard back from my chemo friend- she had been busy and forgot to check her email about our lunch appt. Well, luckily it was tuesday and my neighborhood girls always have lunch on tuesday- so at least I could keep my mind off things while at lunch with the girls...then that got cancelled too :( I ended up getting pretty anxious, and had a few panic attacks. Thank goodness I had some valium in my personal drugstore. That calmed me down nicely, though I did cry a bit in the car on the way to my appointment before it kicked in. I called my grandma on the way there to keep myself distracted. I talk to her in the car whenever I am going to my appointments. She provides great distraction, plus I really try to not act freaked out when I talk to her because that would make her worry more so that further calms me.
The valium made me pretty loopy and I ended up missing a few exits (I know exactly where to go, I have been there many times) But I finally made it to my appointment. By then I was feeling really good and not worried at all. My mammogram was 3d! It was the same as a regular one, but the pictures it took were slightly different- they can view them slice by slice, like an mri image. After that, they had me sit in the waiting room while they reviewed my images. Then they came in and told me they needed an ultrasound. Oh shit. This is what happened last time it was bad. Shit shit shit! Well, I got back there and the doctor quickly told me that my mammo was FINE, but they just really want to make sure by doing an ultrasound. PHEW! She then acknowledged that this appt must be really hard for me and that I must be really nervous. I told her that I had been in the morning but then took a valium and now all is good in the world. She said good for you! LOL! The ultrasound also looked perfect! Yeah!
The valium made me pretty loopy and I ended up missing a few exits (I know exactly where to go, I have been there many times) But I finally made it to my appointment. By then I was feeling really good and not worried at all. My mammogram was 3d! It was the same as a regular one, but the pictures it took were slightly different- they can view them slice by slice, like an mri image. After that, they had me sit in the waiting room while they reviewed my images. Then they came in and told me they needed an ultrasound. Oh shit. This is what happened last time it was bad. Shit shit shit! Well, I got back there and the doctor quickly told me that my mammo was FINE, but they just really want to make sure by doing an ultrasound. PHEW! She then acknowledged that this appt must be really hard for me and that I must be really nervous. I told her that I had been in the morning but then took a valium and now all is good in the world. She said good for you! LOL! The ultrasound also looked perfect! Yeah!
No comments:
Post a Comment